Have You Met?

The tinkle of wedding bells can be heard when Elaine Torres describes her immediate future. “I’m getting married on May 22nd in Aspen. About 200 friends and family are gathering to enjoy our special day. We wanted something a little different so our ceremony is at the Catholic Church on Main Street and our reception is on the sundeck on top of Aspen Mountain. People that are attending can make it a mini vacation.” Elaine and her fiancé have known each other casually for over eight years, but it wasn’t until two years ago on May 22nd that they met up again after the SBA luncheon, when a group of mutual friends went out to dinner. “We got re-acquainted and then started dating a couple of months later. It’s such a great story. Timing is everything!

Elaine, a middle child, grew up in Colorado Springs in a house that her parents still call home. Much of her extended family lived in Northern California and she remembers going there most every year. “We visited fun places like Disneyland and Universal Studios.”

During high school, Elaine recalls her many different jobs. “I had so many jobs. I can’t even tell you all of the jobs I had. Whenever a job conflicted with something important like homecoming, if I couldn’t get the time off, I’d quit and then get a new job the following week. I was terrible. It was terrible. I just couldn’t commit. But, that was high school.”

Elaine loves her job at CBS Channel 4. “I work with a great group of people at the station and I enjoy being able to give back to the community.” She oversees sponsorships, events, community projects, food drives and other campaigns. “I absolutely love it…and I love working with the non-profits.” Elaine’s favorite part of her job is developing the campaigns. “I do two or three major campaigns a year. Last year we did a toy drive five days before Christmas; our lobby was full of toys. We were overwhelmed.”

Elaine always dreamed of becoming a lawyer. “I was always interested in politics and just knew I would be a lawyer. That was my goal. When I graduated from college, I did an internship as a lobbyist, and then I went to work for Governor Romer. In 1993, I worked on his re-election campaign and loved it. I loved working. I kept putting off law school and after a couple of years I questioned whether I wanted to go on to law school and decided I did not. I knew I wanted to go back to school, but I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do.”

What’s important in your life? Family and friends

What’s in your future? Most immediately, a wedding, a honeymoon and a new house

What are your volunteer activities? Board of Directors for National Sports Center for the Disabled, The Adoption Exchange and Colorado Women’s Chamber of Commerce. I’m serving on committees for Regis University Public Affairs Council and the Lieutenant Governors Commission. Recently I worked with Metro Volunteers, Human Services Inc., Colorado Womens Hall of Fame and University of Colorado’s Spanish Alumni Association. I’ve served on numerous other boards throughout the past, but I think it’s important to focus my time and energy on a handful of organizations where I can hopefully make a greater impact. I try to limit myself to three boards, because I don’t feel I have the time to devote to any more. It’s not fair to the organizations.

Which social event is your favorite? Wow, I go to so many, I’m not sure if I can pick just one. Probably, the Botanical Gardens Fete de Fleur. I also enjoy the fashion shows and I think Metro Volunteers Celebrity Waiter is great fun one.

Favorite restaurant? Hapa Sushi

Who is the most interesting celebrity you have ever met? Madeleine Albright. She’s such an amazingly brilliant woman who exudes such strength and wisdom.

If your life were a movie, whom would you want to play your part? I’m not sure. Maybe Constance Marie, Lumi Cavazos, Mia Maestro or some other talented Latina.

Do you have any pets? No. I’m allergic to so many different animals and I don’t have time to take care of a pet.

When you move, what will your home tell its next owner about you? I’m not home enough, but when I am, I love to cuddle up on the couch and watch a good movie

What word describes you best? Dependable

How would you like others to describe you? Caring, loyal and dependable

What was your first job? Like most young girls, my first job was babysitting neighborhood kids. I didn’t like it very much…too much responsibility.

What was your worst job? I worked at a construction company in Castle Rock for about three months. It was the worst experience in my life. There were three of us in the office. I hated the commute, I hated the job and I disliked my boss. He was very chauvinistic. The stuff he said to me was very inappropriate. He was very demanding and the pay was terrible. He broke every rule and worked you through lunch, overtime, etc. It was terrible; I couldn’t stand it so I left.

What is the trait you most deplore in yourself? I have very high expectations of others and myself. When I don’t meet my own expectations I beat myself up, and if others don’t meet my expectations, it becomes very disappointing. That’s not a good trait to have.

What trait do you most deplore in others? Dishonesty

What is your greatest indulgence? Handbags

What type of clothes do you like? Classic, simple and comfortable

What’s the first thing you do when you wake up in the morning? Take my vitamins

What’s the last thing you do before bed? Watch the news

Favorite comfort food? Mexican food

Tell me something about yourself that people would be surprised to know about you. I’ve always been somewhat of a thrill seeker. I love adventure!

What is the best gift you have ever given? The gift of love and friendship

What is the best gift you’ve received? The gift of love and friendship

What or who is the greatest love in your life? My fiancé

What is your current state of mind? I’m the happiest I’ve ever been and I’m excited to see what the future holds

What do you consider your greatest achievement? I think I’ve been extremely blessed to have so many wonderful relationships: fiancé, family, friends and colleagues. Those relationships have been critical to all other areas of my life…education, career, etc.

What is your most treasured possession? Photos

What is the quality you most like in a man? Honesty and integrity

What is the quality you most like in a woman? Honesty and integrity

Favorite books/writers? Most recently, The DaVinci Code

What is the best advice you have ever received? Always be capable of self-sufficiency

Do you have a motto? Not Really

If you could come back in another lifetime, what/who would you like to be? And why? I would love to come back as a teenager during the 60’s. I love the music from that time period…Motown classics from the Temptations, Marvin Gaye and the Supremes

What are your hobbies? Other interests? I love going to the movies and I enjoy golfing, even though I’m terrible

Who is your mentor? My good friend, Patricia Barrela Rivera

What would you most like to be remembered for? For being caring and compassionate

What do you like about the town you live in? Denver is a very welcoming, friendly town with a true sense of community